Jobcenter Logo

About the Jobcenter Dortmund

Responsibilities of the Job Center Dortmund 

The Jobcenter Dortmund pays out the unemployment benefit II. If other means or social benefits (such as unemployment benefits) are not sufficient, the Jobcenter thus takes over the basic financial security of job-seeking Dortmund residents in order to cover their living expenses. At present, the social labour market service provider looks after and advises around 80,000 recipients of unemployment benefit II. The Job Center's primary goal is to reduce this number as much as possible and to support people on their way to being able to earn their own living on a permanent basis. Also because of the essential importance of gainful employment for social integration, the Jobcenter Dortmund places the sustainable placement in a living wage job in the labour market at the forefront of its efforts. In addition, the Jobcenter Dortmund also advises its customers on matters relating to benefits - also with the aim of overcoming the need for assistance.

The Jobcenter Dortmund also advises interested Dortmund employers on hiring (long-term) unemployed persons, supports the search for personnel and decides on possible wage subsidies.

  

The job centre as a joint federal and municipal institution 

The Jobcenter Dortmund is a so-called "joint institution" of the federal government and the municipality. Pursuant to Section 44c of the Social Code II, the two agencies are the Federal Employment Agency and the City of Dortmund. The work of the Jobcenter Dortmund and its integration into the local political, social and economic structures of the city is controlled by three bodies.

  

Owners' Meeting

The two sponsors of the joint institution Jobcenter Dortmund - the Dortmund Employment Agency and the City of Dortmund - meet in the sponsors' assembly. At the end of 2005, the City of Dortmund assumed the decisive voting right in the six-member body. The chairwoman is city councillor Birgit Zoerner. Also represented is Heike Bettermann, Chairwoman of the Management Board of the Dortmund Employment Agency.

  

Support Committee

In order to involve local politics, the two providers have convened a committee in which representatives from the City Council of Dortmund and the Employment Agency make recommendations to the Board of Owners. The committee meets once a quarter.

  

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the Dortmund Job Centre meets at least twice a year. The Dortmund regional manager of the DGB Dortmund-Hellweg, Ms Jutta Reiter, and the managing director of the metal industry association for Dortmund and the surrounding area, Mr Ernst-Peter Brasse, alternate as chair every year. The 20 members of this committee are made up of welfare organisations, the political groups in the City Council of Dortmund, the Chamber of Crafts, the Chamber of Industry and Commerce, trade unions, business associations and qualification providers. The advisory board has an advisory function, it is to assist in the development of regional solution concepts, to help work out the framework criteria of labour market policy, to address future issues and to promote social consensus.

Jobcenter Logo

Über das Jobcenter Dortmund

Verantwortlichkeiten des Jobcenters Dortmund 

Das Jobcenter Dortmund zahlt das Arbeitslosengeld II aus. Falls andere Mittel oder Sozialleistungen (wie z. B. Arbeitslosengeld) nicht ausreichen, übernimmt das Jobcenter somit die finanzielle Grundsicherung von arbeitssuchenden Dortmunder:innen, um ihren Lebensunterhalt zu decken. Derzeit betreut und berät der soziale Arbeitsmarktdienstleister damit ca. 80.000 Bezieher:innen von Arbeitslosengeld II. Das oberste Ziel des Jobcenters ist es, diese Zahl möglichst zu senken und die Menschen auf ihrem Weg zu unterstützen, den eigenen Lebensunterhalt dauerhaft selbst bestreiten zu können. Auch wegen der essentiellen Bedeutung einer Erwerbsarbeit für die gesellschaftliche Integration, stellt das Jobcenter Dortmund die nachhaltige Vermittlung in eine existenzsichernde Beschäftigung auf dem Arbeitsmarkt in den Vordergrund seiner Bemühungen. Darüber hinaus berät das Jobcenter Dortmund seine Kund:innen auch in Hinblick auf leistungsrechtliche Angelegenheiten – ebenfalls mit dem Ziel, die Hilfebedürftigkeit zu überwinden.

Das Jobcenter Dortmund berät auch interessiere Dortmunder Arbeitgeber:innen bei der Einstellung von (Langzeit-)Arbeitslosen, unterstützt die Personalsuche und entscheidet über mögliche Lohnzuschüsse.

 

Das Jobcenter als gemeinsame Einrichtung von Bund und Kommune 

Das Jobcenter Dortmund ist eine sogenannte „gemeinsame Einrichtung” von Bund und Kommune. Gemäß § 44c Sozialgesetzbuch II sind die beiden Träger die Bundesagentur für Arbeit und die Stadt Dortmund. Die Arbeit des Jobcenters Dortmund und seine Einbindung in die lokalen politischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Strukturen der Stadt wird über drei Gremien gesteuert.

 

Trägerversammlung

In der Trägerversammlung tagen die beiden Träger der gemeinsamen Einrichtung Jobcenter Dortmund – die Agentur für Arbeit Dortmund und die Stadt Dortmund. Ende 2005 hat die Stadt Dortmund in dem sechsköpfigen Gremium das entscheidende Stimmrecht übernommen. Vorsitzende ist Stadträtin Birgit Zoerner. Außerdem vertreten ist Heike Bettermann, Vorsitzende der Geschäftsführung der Agentur für Arbeit Dortmund.

 

Trägerausschuss

Zur Beteiligung der lokalen Politik haben die beiden Träger einen Trägerausschuss einberufen, in dem Vertreter:innen aus dem Rat der Stadt Dortmund und der Agentur für Arbeit Empfehlungen für die Trägerversammlung aussprechen. Der Ausschuss tagt einmal im Quartal.

 

Beirat

Mindestens zweimal jährlich tagt der Beirat des Jobcenters Dortmund. Den Vorsitz führen jährlich wechselnd die Dortmunder Regionsgeschäftsführerin des DGB Dortmund-Hellweg, Frau Jutta Reiter, sowie der Geschäftsführer des Unternehmensverbandes der Metallindustrie für Dortmund und Umgebung, Herr Ernst-Peter Brasse. Die 20 Mitglieder dieses Gremiums setzen sich aus Wohlfahrtsverbänden, den politischen Fraktionen im Rat der Stadt Dortmund, der Handwerkskammer, der IHK, Gewerkschaften, Unternehmerverbänden und Qualifizierungsträgern zusammen. Der Beirat hat eine Beratungsfunktion, er soll bei der Entwicklung von regionalen Lösungskonzepten helfen, die Rahmenkriterien der Arbeitsmarktpolitik mit erarbeiten, Zukunftsthemen ansprechen und den gesellschaftlichen Konsens fördern.